The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-15-2014, 03:38 PM

Default String Bending the Correct Technique?

I Just started learning string bending today. I am finding it kind of difficult to bend up to pitch. I either bend sharp or flat. I use a tuner to bend as I am unable to hear if I am bending to pitch. Will I be able to hear this better with time or do I have a poor pair of cans?
Old 10-15-2014, 03:40 PM

Two fingers, grasshopper. Two fingers.

~Dave
~Music self-played is happiness self-made
Old 10-15-2014, 03:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scootch View Post
I just use my middle finger and ring finger for bending.
Old 10-15-2014, 04:21 PM

I use my index and ring, sometimes even adding my middle for a heavy bend.

As far as pitch, I practice that by fretting the desired note, then try to bend from a lower note until it matches what I just played. Working on unison bends will tell you if you are on pitch, too.

Acoustics
2013 Guild F30 Standard
2012 Yamaha LL16
2007 Seagull S12
1991 Yairi DY 50

Electrics
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Fender Am. Standard Telecaster
Gibson ES-335
Gibson Firebird
Old 10-15-2014, 04:33 PM
Charter Member

too many videos to link

go to youtube

search Steve Stine Bending

top 4 videos

Taylor GC7, GA3-12, SB2-C, SB2-Cp...... Ibanez AVC-11MHx , AC-240
Old 10-15-2014, 10:18 PM

Quote:
Considering that you only have four fingers and sometimes your thumb fretting, you don't want to be using two of them on a single note. It will limit your ability to play many fingerpicking arrangements that use bends.