The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-10-2014, 08:05 AM

Default G to Gmaj7 or G9

Hello AGFers,

I'm a beginner player. I'm currently enjoying playing along with songs to help work on getting my strumming sorted out. As I'm adding songs, I'm running across new chord progressions. Last night I decided to try "Lyin' Eyes" by the Eagles. The song contains a G-->Gmaj7-->C progression that I can do OK, but it just doesn't feel ideal.

I generally play my G with my pinkie on the high E string at the 3rd fret, middle finger on the low E at the third fret, and index on the 2nd fret of the A string. I alternately play it with the pinkie on the high E and middle finger on the low E muting the A string so that I have my index finger free for a hammer on.

I'm finding that I can play my G the 2nd way indicated above and use my index for the high E at the 2nd fret for the Gmaj7. It works OK, but just doesn't feel "right." I'm also not getting the B note (A string, 2nd fret) when I play the Gmaj7 this way. Can anyone suggest another fingering that works for you when changing from a G to a Gmaj7?

I do the G-->G9 progression with the same fingers and it's a little bit more of a stretch. I'm again muting the A string when I may not want to.

Thanks for any input!
Old 10-10-2014, 08:17 AM

I think unless it's picked out specifically as part of a pattern or riff, the A string can always be left out of any "G" type cowboy chord.

Pinky/Middle seems odd for a two finger G. You might want to train your hands to do pinky/ring, or ring/middle for that G--Gmaj7 move (I haven't played this song in ages, but that's how I'd do it, and definitely no A string note...)

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz
Old 10-10-2014, 09:08 AM