The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 11-02-2018, 03:54 PM

Default barre chords question

How do I get better hand strength?
Can't seem to barre as long as I want too
Muscle failure
Old 11-02-2018, 03:58 PM

IME, playing barre chords is a very specific type of strength and the best way to develop it is just by playing them more often. Weightlifting, finger strength gimmick things = waste of time.

On electric, I play mostly barre and power chords. I don't barre much on the acoustic - I just haven't gotten there yet strength-wise. Be patient, it will come. Start with your Tele.

Ibanez, Recording King, Gretsch, Martin
G&L, Squier, Orange (x 2),
Bugera, JBL, Soundcraft

Our duo website - UPDATED 7/26/19
Old 11-02-2018, 04:05 PM

Practice, practice, practice. I've been playing for nearly 50 years, and my hand still gets tired when I play barre chords through a whole song. Sometimes I can switch off with different chord fingerings (there's lots of ways to play a F chord), but sometimes ya gotta just play through it.
Old 11-02-2018, 04:05 PM

Age might be a factor, no offense. If you were 19, I'd tell you to practice them barre chords every day for 10 minutes and before you know it...voila!
If you are on the wrong side of 60, you should have someone in the know look at your approach...cuz, you ain't growing any new muscles, I'm afraid.
That's not to say you can't tighten up the ones you have, mind you. It just is not going to be nearly as easy as being a teen.

Not to mention having your guitar set up properly can make forming those dang barre chords far easier!!

Good luck,
scott
Old 11-02-2018, 04:07 PM
Charter Member

Hi,I was asked on my YouTube channel to talk about this, but I confess that I tend to avoid them myself when I can, so I did a search .. on YT and found some god advice better than I could have given so recommended these:

and

Old 11-02-2018, 04:21 PM