The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 02-19-2024, 02:49 PM

Default DI Box

So I have an acoustic amp and it has reverb and chorus and and EQ. Are there benefits to a DI box? I am pretty new to playing amplified.

Thanks.
Old 02-19-2024, 03:01 PM

If your acoustic amp has a Direct Out (XLR male jack on the backside of your amp), you don't need a DI box. DI boxes are made for long cable runs from stage to mixing desks, they are not dedicated for improving sound (although some do) . If your amp does not offer Direct Out, you want to plug in a Direct Box and split the signal there: One line (XLR) to the desk, one line to your amp.

https://www.youtube.com/@roberthasleder1526
Old 02-19-2024, 03:12 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Huskyman View Post
So I have an acoustic amp and it has reverb and chorus and and EQ. Are there benefits to a DI box? I am pretty new to playing amplified.

Thanks.
If you're happy with the sound you are getting then no, you don't really need anything.

There is a terminology problem on AGF, and it's with "DI box." The purpose of a Direct Injection, or DI, box is to convert an unbalanced input to a balanced, low impedance output so that it can run over a significantly longer distance without degrading the tone and with the benefit of noise immunity.

That said.... (deep breath, knowing the kind of feedback this might receive)

I'm increasingly seeing "DI" used to refer to a box that contains a preamp, EQ controls, perhaps a tuner, maybe a boost and / or mute switch, and quite possibly an actual DI circuit. And that's what I'm assuming you are referring to.

If you're actually asking about a DI box, then the answer would be that if you want to use a cable more than, say, 25 feet then yes, you should probably consider one.

But since you mention effects and EQ, I don't think this is what you are meaning. 🙂
Old 02-19-2024, 03:59 PM

Quote: