The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 06-12-2020, 06:39 AM
Charter Member

Default Recording Vocals

Hi everyone,

Already this section has been a gold mine of information regarding acoustic guitar recording. FYI My current set up is a pair of Gefell's into an Apogee, and using Reaper.

I'd like to record vocals alongside the guitar (for my own enjoyment, I am an amateur), and I have some questions about:

1/ The mic: I currently have the SM58, and my budget for potential replacement is ~$500 - would you stick to the SM58 or switch to something better?
2/ The placement in the room
3/ Any other tip that could be useful

I am aware that this topic has likely been addressed at length, so please don't hesitate to link me to another thread (could not find one in my quick search).

Thanks everyone!
Old 06-12-2020, 06:49 AM

Get a $79 CAD (or similar) padded shield, a pop filter, and a decent large diaphragm condenser mic, like an Audio Technica 2020 or 2035, or similar. For under $250, you'll get way better results than with the 58.

https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Mic.../dp/B00GR9W1MS
https://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technic.../dp/B002T45X1G
https://www.amazon.com/Microphone-Fl.../dp/B06WVFRW4H

Bono supposedly used a 58 or beta 58 on all his vocals, BUT I'm sure his studio was equipped with $7000 preamps.

Last edited by YamahaGuy; 06-12-2020 at 06:57 AM.
Old 06-12-2020, 07:01 AM
Charter Member

Haven't heard your voice or recordings in your room, and both would factor into any mic recommendation I might think of.

With my old croaking, the SM58 actually works reasonably well. I have better mics, but I prefer it in an untreated space.
Old 06-12-2020, 07:16 AM
Charter Member

I should have been more accurate.