The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 04-26-2020, 10:53 PM

Default What are your other hobbies besides guitar?

I have three fairly common ones and one pretty unusual one.

The common ones: 1) I have a wood shop, 2) I build and maintain my own internet servers (mail, web, media streaming), and 3) I collect and restore antique radios.

The unusual one: I have fairly recently started collecting and restoring IBM Model M keyboards. These are the big ivory-colored ones ubiquitous in the 80s and 90s. I will explain why one would want to do that if asked; otherwise you can go here and here to see the process in pictures.

What's your hobby situation?
Old 04-27-2020, 12:43 AM

Well, I used to watch baseball, specifically the Atlanta Braves. Now I mostly stare at my autographed Dale Murphy ball. I'm a solid cook, and have a green thumb. I wanna learn kung fu, but at my age I should probably go with yoga, lol.
Old 04-27-2020, 03:18 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwasifar View Post
I have three fairly common ones and one pretty unusual one.

The common ones: 1) I have a wood shop, 2) I build and maintain my own internet servers (mail, web, media streaming), and 3) I collect and restore antique radios.

The unusual one: I have fairly recently started collecting and restoring IBM Model M keyboards. These are the big ivory-colored ones ubiquitous in the 80s and 90s. I will explain why one would want to do that if asked; otherwise you can go here and here to see the process in pictures.

What's your hobby situation?
Good lord, I spent 20 years of my life bashing away at those things! You'#ve just given me flashbacks!

I can remember seeing piles of those and the old 3277 screens awaiting scrap in one of our stock depots in London.
Old 04-27-2020, 04:53 AM
Charter Member

The longer I stay at home, the more I want to go flatwater kayak paddling...
Martin D18 Ambertone
Martin 000-15sm