The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 06-18-2006, 08:03 AM

Default Rainsong Problem [ Bubbles in Finish ]

In May, I bought my WS 3000 guitar USED (therefore under no warranty at all) but I thought that was ok because this guitar is supposed to be "indestructable." It had a slight problem with the finish. There were small bubbles on the lower part of the front, and also above the sound hole. The initial look of the used guitar didn't bother me. (Now, learn from me: if you ever see a Rainsong with this "feature"... avoid it! Also, you might want to consider... if the finish in the Rainsong gets damaged, what will you do? Even if the guitar is new, the finish is not covered specifically under the lifetime warranty.)

I am new to this Acoustic Guitar Forum. I joined because I found a message about someone who had a problem in the finish of his Rainsong guitar... specifically, "bubbles." Wish I'd read the message before contacting Rainsong. It would've been good ammunition, because when I asked them (specifically, Jeane) about "bubbles"-- which is the specific word I also used, and they denied ever hearing about such a problem from anyone ever!

Sometime a month after buying the guitar, I played my guitar outside in the sunlight for about 10-15 minutes. The guitar started getting hot. I smelled chemicals. The guitar went a little out of tune. Of course, I will never do that again, and I took the guitar inside and didn't think much about it.

Last weekend, when I looked at the guitar... the finish has bubbled all over the place on the face of the guitar! And, the original bubbled areas have grown in area & height. It's as if the sunlight activated the original bubble problem into something worse.