The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-07-2020, 07:28 PM
Guest 33123

Default a Eureka! moment and a way forward

Hi guys,

I've been playing for 35 years with the last 20 focused solely on acoustic fingerpicking. In the first 15 years of fingerpicking I progressed considerably but I've spend the past few years a little directionless. I had a long chat with Woody Mann about this and followed his recommendations but I keep coming back to this point of feeling lost. I do feel I'm playing the best guitar of my life right now but I don't really have many goals left other than the next fingerpicking instructional DVD or tune. I maintain a 30 song repertoire so there's always something to work on but it's still not enough. I do play six days a week, sometimes for hours on end, so I'm happy to be playing but yet I'm sort of bored.

Then suddenly a few clear thoughts came together in my head today (hard to believe but it does happen sometimes!)

Back at the beginning of Apr. I bought a National Triolian 12 fret steel bodied resonator. No major intent there other than I always wanted one. Since then I've been playing it on my Blind Blake tunes with varying degrees of success. Honestly I'm still learning how to play it properly.

Also, as some of you may have noticed, a Gibson J-185 is in my near future so I've been thinking about what material to use it on. I realized that the Blake stuff would sound a lot better in the J-185 than it does on the Trioilan. I just think a wood body would be a better instrument for those tunes.