The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 03-13-2019, 12:04 PM
AGF Sponsor

Default Preferred set of water stones

After reading the previous chisel post, I thought I would throw this out there.
It is time to replace my water stones and I would like to get some opinions. I have been using a set of King water stones for many years now. It seems that these stones are very soft and dish out very easily. This has been confirmed when I found a Fine Woodworking Magazine review of sharpening tones that stated that the King stones were the softest of the sets in their comparison. I realize that softer stones expose sharp abrasive quickly, but it seems these are a bit too soft, and I have to flatten them too often . I would be interested in the thoughts of the builders and repair people on the forum regarding their favorite water stones (diamond sharpening is a little steep for me price wise).
Old 03-13-2019, 12:33 PM

First off, why water? I'm real old school, it's oil for me. Not sure there's any difference in the actual stones.
Old 03-13-2019, 01:16 PM

As with one's choice of chisels, there are many options for sharpening that will work. Which is the best is a matter or personal preference and to what one has been exposed. Sharpening, like fashion, has trends, with newer things and methods coming available and people adopting them. Sometimes newer things are an improvement, sometimes just a step sideways.