The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Closed Thread

Old 04-04-2020, 09:21 PM
Charter Member

Default Thoughts On Natural Ways to Help Fight COVID-19

* I know big Pharma doesn't care much for natural alternatives for many reasons financially and politically... and that is not the point of this thread because Pharma has done good too. Example; when the overwhelming science proved the health benefits of Fish oil, Pharma companies came out with their Rx'able version.

** Now as a patient of a wonderful physician I've known nearly 30 years, he believes in the science behind some natural approaches such as Argentyn 23, Vitamin C & D, maybe Coconut Oil, Olive Leaf Extract, BHT, Nasal Irrigation with saline and probiotics.

*** I'm no scientist, tho I've educated myself a bit on natural treatments partly through my doctor and extensive research... But my question to my AGF brother-sisterhood is that if any of you are physicians or scientists; what are your thoughts on this subject? I know there are snake-oil things out there, but I'm interested in what may truly help. Would you use for yourself a personal cocktail of proven natural alternatives to help you fight the virus in conjunction with conventional medicine? Have you had success in treating virus's with them? ...maybe you can give us some positive and/or helpful responses/advice.

Thank you for your input & wish you all blessings of good health.

eric
Old 04-05-2020, 05:05 AM

Many treatments are derived from natural sources, so it isn’t as much a matter of the origin, it is that the accepted standard of proof has not been met in many cases. Medical devices and drugs have an established standard that must be met for a given indication and an established procedure for meeting that standard.