The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-23-2020, 10:47 AM

Default Don't Purchase OR Sell For 1 Year

As a lifelong guitarist I think back to when I was a young player in my late teens - 20's. I was building my chops and connections while taking every gig I possibly could. If I got called to fill in on a live gig or recording session I could be there, depending on L.A. traffic, in 30-60 minutes. The one thing I never had to worry about is what guitar to grab because - I had two. One acoustic and one electric. I always had the two until the late 80's when I got a second acoustic. The short of this is I knew every millimeter of those guitars. I knew how they sounded with different strings. I knew how they performed in different tunings. I knew how they amplified. I knew every nuance about them. Because we spent every hour, of every day, together. We were inseparable.

Today I still have a modest number of working tools and still know every fret and nuance of every guitar I have - because I don't buy, sell, trade guitars weekly, monthly or quarterly..... I buy a special guitar and become one with it so that I can make it do what I want it to do. With my control of the instrument it makes me sound - like me. That's something you can't do when the guitar sits in a case for months at a time because you're noodling around with other guitars. It's just like a relationship with a girl/boy friend or spouse. If you're always on the prowl, you can never develop that bond that can take you any & everywhere with that someone (even guitar) special. Stop looking at specs. Just pick up a guitar and when it speaks to you, buy it and then play the snot out of it. The world worked that way, without complication, for decades/centuries.