The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 02-08-2002, 03:41 PM

Smile looking for help

Since this is my first post, I would like to first off thank you all for allowing me in to your "world". Now, a little about myself. I am a beginning lefty guitar player with some musical knowledge. I studied piano as a kid and know how to read notes somewhat. I am a proud new owner of a Taylor 310ce. Since I am a lefty, I had a hard time finding the right first guitar. However, after taking the Taylor tour(which is 3 miles away from home), I was convinced that it would have to be Taylor guitar. I love the attention to detail and the craftsmanship put into such a product. Not to mention the beautiful sound. After weeks of searching, I found the perfect guitar(which was in stock) at a Taylor dealer in Batimore, MA(while travelling for the company I work for). So I had them ship it to me and what a pleasure it has been. I have enrolled in a beginning guitar class at my local community college and have attended one class so far. I think it is a great class and I could only benefit from what the instructor teaches. But, here is my dilemna. I really want and desire to be a great guitar player and fast. Actually, let me rephrase that statement. I want to be able to play songs and be able to read and play sheet music in as little time as possible. I realize that it will take time and dedication and I am willing. How do I get there and how long will it take? I devote at least 45-90 minutes daily practicing the various individual strings and notes(Hal Leonard Book1-textbook) and have fiddled with a few chords from a chart, but I have no clue as to how you link chords or strum them together to play songs(I can play a pretty good yankee doodle and happy birthday so far). Do I put in more practice time? Do I learn more methods and theory? I have no one or nothing to look to aside from school. I'v