The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 01-30-2002, 07:49 AM

Unhappy Question: Changing Chord Bass Notes

I'm a beginner, and I was wondering if someone could direct me toward a resource for the following problem. I have been trying different variations on chords by changing the bass notes (not even sure if I am using the right terminology).

For example, I can play a simple D chord by using my index, ring, and middle fingers respectively on the G, B, and E strings. The problem is what fingers to use where when I go to other variants. Like D/F# - do I have to reach around with my thumb? And how do I get my fingers to play D/C#? I'm looking at a tab and I don't think my fingers will do that!

Any help?

Thanks,
Scott
Old 01-30-2002, 08:39 AM

D/F#

e 2
B 3
G 2
D 4
A x
E x

D/C#

e 2
B 3
G 2
D 0
A 4
E x

In fingering both of these chords, you can use your index to barre/fret the e,B, and G all at once on the 2nd fret, use the middle or pinky finger on the B, 3rd fret, and the ring on the 4th frets of the D for the D/F# and A for the D/C#. I'm sure there are other ways, but this is how I'd do it if I didn't wanna use the ol' thumb. Hope this helps!

Les

Last edited by Les Regala; 01-30-2002 at 08:42 AM.
Old 01-30-2002, 04:26 PM

Yeah, it's ok to use your thumb if it will reach. There's an old thread about thumb fretting. Do a search.

As for the D/C#, you'll have to use your pinky to reach the C#, which may be difficult for you at first. Keep working at it, you'll get it eventually. If you have a hard time, you can try playing a D2/C# which is the same except you don't fret the high e string.

Ken
Old 02-02-2002, 09:58 AM

Scott,

I reach around with my thumb on the D/F# variant. No doubt it's not the technically correct way, but it works.