The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 08-15-2012, 10:11 AM
Charter Member

Question ?: aux speakers for my H4 zoom

hi folks
just picked up an H4 for banjo camp and i want to have a small set of speakers i can plug in for playback.

has anyone done this?
i was told by the sweetwater(over the phone) salesman that he would supply me a cable and all i need to do is pick up some computer speakers of my choice.
any advice out there on this?

thanks, i'm totally new to this recording thing and i want to use this to capture lessons and examples at the camp.

d
Old 08-16-2012, 11:03 AM
Charter Member

Question

so has anyone out there has used aux speakers on any zoom unit for playback listening?

if so, how'd it sound and what size, brand speakers did you use?

d
Old 08-16-2012, 12:33 PM

Hi Daryl,

Are you talking about monitoring the recording during the actual recording, or playing it back later?
Old 08-16-2012, 12:58 PM

If you're looking for better than average computer speakers - which are often pretty dire - Acoustic Energy Aego and Audioengine A2 could be worth considering. Better still, Adam A3X if you think some accurate, studio monitors is more the kind of thing you're looking for (note the price is often quoted for one).
Old 08-16-2012, 02:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by darylcrisp View Post
hi folks
just picked up an H4 for banjo camp and i want to have a small set of speakers i can plug in for playback.

has anyone done this?
i was told by the sweetwater(over the phone) salesman that he would supply me a cable and all i need to do is pick up some computer speakers of my choice.
any advice out there on this?

thanks, i'm totally new to this recording thing and i want to use this to capture lessons and examples at the camp.

d
Do your speakers need to be battery powered? Or can they plug in?