The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 03-11-2019, 07:59 AM

Default Further improving my guitar sound

Question....

I currently play my acoustic/vocals through a Fishman SA220 PA and use a TC Helicon Perform VG to enhance the guitar & vocals. The Perform unit has the "Bodyrez" function to improve the guitar sound. Would I benefit further by adding a preamp/DI box before going through the Perform VG unit? Something like an LR Baggs Para? Do either the Fishman or Perform unit have a built in DI? Also, sometimes I just take my Perfrom VG pedal and hook that straight into a house PA. Would a preamp/DI benefit me in those instances.

Let me add I am new to running my own sound so I realize these may be "stupid" questions But thanks for the help!
Old 03-11-2019, 01:22 PM

Is my question dumb or doesn't anyone know the answer?
Old 03-11-2019, 01:38 PM

There are no dumb questions - although I have seen some pretty dumb answers and it's your job to separate the wisdom from the word salad - good luck.

It's hard to advise on your situation from a distance. If you were to describe an actual problem then those with similar experience can share, sometimes explain the principles and mechanics of an issue.

Apart from that these kinds of questions normally end up with lists of recommendations of folk's favourite gear which may or may not be appropriate for your needs.

It would be useful in that case if you could identify what is bothering you, otherwise just play and enjoy.
Old 03-11-2019, 02:03 PM

If you use the Perform VG direct to the house PA, most likely you do not need a DI. You can pick one up fairly inexpensively though, if you only want to have a simple DI out to the board.