The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 02-11-2019, 11:48 AM

Default Amplification Upgrade Recommendations

Before I start... Bear with me if Im asking stupid questions, but I havent had a lot of luck coming up with the right search terms here or on the web in general for this.

Background: Im still a pretty gross amateur with the Guitar. Bought my first (and SO FAR only) guitar in Sept of '17, a Taylor Academy 10e. I took a few months of private instruction, then had a bit of a medical issue that pushed me out of it for a while. Since getting back to it, it has all been self taught. My practice playlist is currently at 35 songs, about 30 of which I can play ok, the other 5 are stretching me (more barre chords, some finger picking, faster, etc.

Now, I have now found the joy of playing with others... :-)

Shortly after buying the guitar, I bought a Powerwerks PW50 PA, just so I had something to play around with. When I started hosting a "music" night with a buddy, the Powerwerks was awesome. We both were able to plug in, as well as plugging in my iPhone with my spotify playlist, and do at least a rudimentary mix. I also bought a beat buddy mini 2, and a Ditto X2 Looper. Have not done much with them YET, but I can see the promise. Now we have another guy joining us on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and a couple more that MIGHT join sometime. (actively looking for a bass player).

Anyway, I am thinking of making some improvements to the system. The objectives so far are:
  • Add some bottom end to the sound. The Powerwerks PW50 sounds "ok", but could use some help with bass.
  • Support more players. The PW50 has two Line/MIC inputs, and one mini jack. I would like to have at least 2 more Line/MIC for these jam sessions.
  • Keep it relatively portable. I also intend to use this system for tailgates, our annual fourth of July block party, etc