The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-26-2019, 06:32 PM
Chipotle Chipotle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 494
Default Studio electrical wiring

Not directly related to recording acoustic guitar, but I finally got some monitor speakers for my small home studio (Presonus Eris E5 fwiw), and when I plugged them in, the noise induced in them from all the other computer equipment on the same outlet was horrible.

It's an old house--like ungrounded knob-and-tube wiring old. Only two outlets in the room, on the same circuit, already handling a bunch of gear: computer, monitor, printer, external drives, router, computer speakers, humidifier and humidistat. What a racket!

For now, problem solved by running an extension cord from another room (outlet on same circuit). Peace and quiet.

Aside from the fact that the room needs more outlets anyway, are there any best practices for wiring a studio? Should I run a new circuit from the breaker box? Tips for what gets plugged in together? Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2019, 10:07 AM
Cocobolo Kid's Avatar
Cocobolo Kid Cocobolo Kid is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 792
Default

Running a separate dedicated circuit from the breaker box will give you the cleanest power for your audio devices.

Less expensive solutions would include putting your computer equipment on a UPS (uninterruptable power supply). Unless you are using a laptop, you should have your computer connected to a UPS anyway to avoid file corruption or loss of unsaved work in the event of a sudden power outage. Connect your computer and monitor to the "battery backup" side and connect the printer to the "surge only" side.

To isolate your audio equipment further, you can try a good power conditioner from the likes of Furman, etc. I use a Torus power conditioner that provided better results than a high end Furman.

Good luck.
__________________
John
Tucson, AZ

2020 Kraut 00, Swiss/Brazilian, build
2018 Eady EG Pro Electric, Redwood/Mahogany
2013 Baranik Meridian, Blue Spruce/Cocobolo, build
2009 Beneteau Concert Standard, Englemann/Brazilian
2008 Baranik CX, Blue Spruce/African Blackwood
2008 Breedlove A20 Masterclass 12-string, Adi/IRW
2003 Thames classical, Euro/Brazilian
Fodera Standard 4 Fretless bass, figured walnut

Last edited by Cocobolo Kid; 11-27-2019 at 10:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2019, 02:11 PM
Chipotle Chipotle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 494
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cocobolo Kid View Post
Less expensive solutions would include putting your computer equipment on a UPS (uninterruptable power supply). Unless you are using a laptop, you should have your computer connected to a UPS anyway to avoid file corruption or loss of unsaved work in the event of a sudden power outage. Connect your computer and monitor to the "battery backup" side and connect the printer to the "surge only" side.
Will a UPS isolate the noise of the computer equipment even if the audio gear is plugged into the other plug of the same outlet?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2019, 02:30 PM
KevWind's Avatar
KevWind KevWind is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edge of Wilderness Wyoming
Posts: 12,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cocobolo Kid View Post
Running a separate dedicated circuit from the breaker box will give you the cleanest power for your audio devices.

Less expensive solutions would include putting your computer equipment on a UPS (uninterruptable power supply). Unless you are using a laptop, you should have your computer connected to a UPS anyway to avoid file corruption or loss of unsaved work in the event of a sudden power outage. Connect your computer and monitor to the "battery backup" side and connect the printer to the "surge only" side.

To isolate your audio equipment further, you can try a good power conditioner from the likes of Furman, etc. I use a Torus power conditioner that provided better results than a high end Furman.

Good luck.
What model Torus are you using ? I was looking at some Furman to replace my old Monster here in the next year or so , but am now curious about the Torus
__________________
" Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding." Albert Einstein
Enjoy the Journey.... Kev...


KevWind at Soundcloud
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2019, 04:13 PM
Gordon Currie Gordon Currie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kirkland, WA USA
Posts: 983
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chipotle View Post
...computer, monitor, printer, external drives, router, computer speakers, humidifier and humidistat. What a racket!
I've found that modern PCs and monitors are pretty quiet relative to other devices. Whereas printers, routers and humidifiers tend to induce a lot of noise.

I'm with Cocobolo. Get a dedicated circuit (or two) and use the existing circuit for the non-music related gear. And definitely a UPS for the PC - they provide some filtering and partial isolation along with security from power dips.
__________________
-Gordon

1978 Larrivee L-26 cutaway | 1988 Larrivee L-28 cutaway | 2006 Larrivee L03-R | 2009 Larrivee LV03-R | 2016 Irvin SJ cutaway
K+K, Dazzo, Schatten/ToneDexter


Notable Journey website
Facebook page
CD Baby

"Where the spirit does not work with the hand, there is no art." -Leonardo Da Vinci
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=