The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 05-13-2009, 09:35 PM

Default Good fingerstyle book?

Title says it all. Can anyone recommend a good, readily available fingerstyle book? I'm a beginner at fingerstyle but not a beginner at guitar, if that makes sense. Just trying to learn the fundamentals.
Old 05-13-2009, 09:42 PM

I don't play fingerstyle, but I know Bruce Emery has written a book and he's fun to read and very good. Try Fingerstyle Guitar From Scratch. http://www.skepticalguitarist.com/books.htm
Old 05-13-2009, 09:49 PM

Location: Not where I thought I was going, but probably where I need to be.

BIg fan of Bruce Emery's books, in particular his "Skeptical Guitarist" theory books.
For acutally learning some fingerstyle, I prefer Mark Hanson's two book/CD series,
"The Art of Contemporary Travis Picking";
http://www.accentonmusic.com/book_detail.asp?qID=5
and
"The Art of Solo Fingerpicking"
http://www.accentonmusic.com/book_detail.asp?qID=7

I have a whole library of music books, and these are the best I've come across for beginning/intermediate fingerstyle instrucion.
Very well written...starts off each section introducing a new technique/topic with some simple exercises, incorporates what you just learned into a song (and there are some very good songs here.)
By the time you get to the end of book 2, you are well on your way to finger/thumb independence.
Excellent tab, good tunes, laid out logically, good CD.
Great, inexpensive series.

"Use what talents you possess; the woods would be very silent if no birds sang except those that sang best."
Henry Van Dyke

"It is in the world of slow time that truth and art are found as one"
Norman Maclean,
Old 05-13-2009, 10:16 PM

I'm in the same boat, not a beginning guitarist but am a beginning fingerstylist.