The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 08-20-2018, 08:43 AM

Default Vocal Reverb

I am extremely new to singing and playing acoustic guitar and have a question which I'm sure will make this quite obvious. I was at a coffee shop (i know the owner) and plugged my guitar in and sang/practiced a couple of songs just to see how I sounded, the owner said he added some reverb to my vocals. What exactly is that and what does it do?
Old 08-20-2018, 08:51 AM

It's an effect that makes you or your guitar sound like it is in a space with reflections. To try it for free start singing outside and then go and sing in your bathroom that will give you natural reverb due to the reflections of the sound of the tiles.
Old 08-20-2018, 08:52 AM

In simplest terms, it makes your voice sound like it does when you sing in the shower.
Old 08-21-2018, 02:33 PM

I imagine reverb to be an expander of sound. It takes my voice or guitar and adds space making it sound more full and rich. It does not really change the tone. It just expands what you put into it. Most recordings we hear on the radio use reverb on voice and instruments but usually sparingly. It is similar to delay to a degree but delay offers up not only a bigger sound but a sound that is being heard in delayed stages. The amount the sound is delayed after the original sound is determined by the settings from no delay to full seconds between sounds. The length that this delay continues is determined by the settings as well and can be set from one delayed sound after the original to several delayed sounds repeating themselves over and over.
Alvarez
Fender Strat '69
Gibson 1942 Banner LG-2 Vintage Sunburst
Gibson SJ-200
Taylor Myrtlewood 12 string
Emerald X20
Godin Montreal w/piezo
Old 08-21-2018, 02:53 PM

Cool Delay & Reverb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Okiefisch View Post