The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 08-17-2018, 08:32 PM

Default fishman soloamp

hi , I've been using this soloamp for about 5 years now. every weekend. My small problem is , I can't seem to get my vocal mic as loud as my guitar. the mic is a seinhiesser [good one, but don't know which model]. it is comparative to an SM57. no matter where i place the amp ,if i turn up the mic ,it feeds back. I know about the antifeedback but it still feeds back....time for a new or different mic? don't know.
Old 08-18-2018, 12:54 AM

I don't think they are manufactured any more, but there was a pedal called a "GoRack" by dbx that was said to be very effective at feedback suppression. It was sold as a kind of hands-off overall sound enhancer, but they discontinued it a little while ago and sold off their remaining stock pretty cheap.

I think you can still find one on eBay or Reverb for <$100. People who used them seemed to like them, and it might solve your problem.
Old 08-18-2018, 05:42 AM

Get an ART MP tube preamp. Gives a nice, warm tube sound and can increase gain from there without over working the signal at your soloamp.
Old 08-18-2018, 10:32 AM
Charter Member

I have been using the SA220 for years and could not be more pleased with it. It is the single best gear purchase I have ever made.

What I have discovered is that certain mics are more prone to feedback than others. I used a EV767 ( a very good mic at a great price) and I could situate the SA anywhere including directly behind me with no feedback at all. However, when I went to the Heil PR35 ( an excellent mic), I started getting some feedback.