The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-18-2010, 12:33 PM

Default question about fingerstyle

I have a general question about fingerstyle playing. I have heard other players say before that all of there songs sound the same when they strum. For instance, using the old standard DDUUDu pattern in different songs that have the same chords, it all sounds the same. I am just learning fingerstyle and have learned a pattern or two, so I guess the question is ...how does one use the same fingerstyle pattern and make songs sound like that particular song or am I completely off base thinking that will work and the method I am using, i.e. simple fingerstyle pattern is really only good for just backing up a singer? Thanks
Old 04-18-2010, 12:54 PM
Charter Member

You have a chance to work out various combinations of melody and harmony for one thing. One precise picking pattern throughout
the song without variation would be somewhat limiting but that is rarely how it is done.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 04-18-2010, 01:22 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluesguy63 View Post
...how does one use the same fingerstyle pattern and make songs sound like that particular song or am I completely off base thinking that will work and the method I am using, i.e. simple fingerstyle pattern is really only good for just backing up a singer? Thanks
Hi ''guy''…
A really great fingerstyle teaching tool is Pete Huttlinger's DVD titled Essential Exercises for Fingerstyle Guitar.

The reality is I don't use only one pattern to play everything. I do use simpler patterns when backing up singers than when playing full-blown fingerstyle arrangements.