The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 03-03-2018, 08:03 PM

Default tips to keep finger nails or alternatives to long nails

Well as the title states how do you guys pick? Is anyone using finger picks for this style? I spent about 4 weeks growing my nails out and had them shaped pretty well, I figured a week or two and they would look close to the examples I see in my book and on the web.

However life happened and I had my first finger break and tear considerably. Keeping long nails might not ever be in the cards for me. In my past life I was an Automotive Technician, and in my current life I'm an Automotive Instructor. My current job keeps my hands clean for the most part. If I'm teaching an electrical class or operational theory class they stay clean. However I also teach some hands on classes with what we call hardware (auto trans, Engines etc...). So for about 3 weeks in a row I was teaching theory classes and last week I did a hardware class...

Has anyone else dealt with similar road blocks? I had really started to get used to the feel of plucking with my nails. I don't care for flat picks, but I have never tried finger picks. I don't think they are really intended for this style but if someone else has, I'm curious to how they worked out.

Thanks

James
Old 03-03-2018, 10:29 PM

I am still struggling with this as well. Even though I don't have a job that is hard on my nails I still manage to break one every once in a while. I don't polish and smooth them every day which would no doubt help keep them from snagging on things. I may try clear nail polish if it isn't too shiny. I never tried nail picks as I mostly play classical guitar.
1992 Paulino Bernabe M-50
2005 Breedlove C-25 Northwest Classic
1968 Taurus model 56
2005 Dan Lankford 8 Course Renaissance Lute
old German Lute Guitar
1982 Yamaha G231 II
Old 03-04-2018, 01:10 AM