The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 06-15-2019, 05:33 AM

Default Tips for strumming with a thumbpick

Title says it all. I'm new to thumb-picking and enjoy the picking side of things but find strumming to be less natural-feeling than using a normal pick.

Any thoughts or tips appreciated.
Old 06-15-2019, 05:51 AM

Try a Fred Kelly Bumblebee Jazz. I use one 100% of the time for fingerpicking and strumming. It is not the adjustability that makes it work for me but rather the play between the flat pick and the thumb band: not too much play for fingerpicking but a more natural feel for flatpicking.
IR Demo, read the description too: https://youtu.be/SELEE4yugjE
My duo's website and my email... [email protected]

Jon Fields
Old 06-15-2019, 07:33 AM

I used to use a thumb pick years ago. I still gripped it like a flat pick. I used to drop picks a lot.

Today I am attempting to use more finger picking and bought thumb and finger picks. Just doesn't feel right.
2019 Takamine GD93
2022 Takamine GJ72CE 6-String
2022 Cort GA-QF CBB
1963 Gibson SG
2016 Kala uke
Dean A style mandolin. (Year unknown)
Lotus L80 (1984ish)
Plus a few lower end I have had for years
Old 06-15-2019, 09:47 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonfields45 View Post
Try a Fred Kelly Bumblebee Jazz... not too much play for fingerpicking but a more natural feel for flatpicking.
I have long been a thumb picker, and could never do much with a flat pick because of their slipping. Recently I got much better at flat picking because of thin textured picks, and gravitated into alternate picking (double picking, back picking).

So I got a few Bumblebees to see if one pick could do it all. They are a hybrid, with a flat pick on a thumb band. A big long thumb pick.