The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 07-31-2020, 06:44 PM

Default Great video - action height, intonation, fret buzz and more

This video, despite being 38 minutes long have taught me more than I'll ever learn in a very long time without it. I just started playing guitar a little over a month ago and I'm grateful for landing on this one.

Thought I'd like to share because it's been so dang helpful.
Old 07-31-2020, 08:41 PM

Uhm, the white thing that gets removed is called a saddle. The dark thing it sits in is called a bridge. The rest of the video is similarly accurate. There are far better sources of information.
Old 08-01-2020, 12:11 PM
Charter Member

Decent video, and yes the word "saddle" was used several times, etc.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 08-01-2020, 10:01 PM

If I were to install a shorter-in-height saddle onto the guitar that already plays good, chances are I'll need to do a truss rod adjustment of lefty loosy rather than a righty tighty, right? My action is a bit too high, I fear for more stress and wear on the bridge than needed.

Last edited by LeDave; 08-01-2020 at 10:07 PM.
Old 08-02-2020, 01:10 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeDave View Post
If I were to install a shorter-in-height saddle onto the guitar that already plays good, chances are I'll need to do a truss rod adjustment of lefty loosy rather than a righty tighty, right? My action is a bit too high, I fear for more stress and wear on the bridge than needed.
No.