The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 02-02-2019, 10:35 AM

Default Hofner Congress

New to the site,hope Im in the right place. I have a messed up Hofner Congress
(1959 I think). I want to try to revive it and need help. Im a carpenter by trade,not a luthier. Im not interested in a perfect restoration, I just want to get it back on the road and playing half way decent.
From what I can find on the internet,this was an economy model when it first came out. Nothing special,not worth a lot. Certainly not worth spending a lot of money on repairing it.
Anybody familiar with this guitar?
Old 02-02-2019, 11:38 AM

It might be best for you to say what kind of help you need with the Hofner. Luthiers don't necessarily need to be familiar with that particular guitar as
issues are pretty much the same from instrument to instrument.
Old 02-02-2019, 11:48 AM

The neck was bent (concave). When I unstrung it to assess it better,it seems to have straightened itself out on its own without strings!
The action is way too high. 8mm (+ -) at the 12th fret. The bridge is adjusted as far down as it will go.
There is a zero (?) fret sitting between the nut and the first fret. Should the string rest upon this? There are grooves worn into it but this puts the action
by the first fret at 1 to 2 mm ?
The bridge itself is a floating bridge. The bottom of it where it rests on the body of the guitar has a different radius to the body of the guitar. Whats that all about?
I think thats it. There may be more questions but these are the main ones.
Thanks for any help/advise.
Old 02-02-2019, 01:39 PM

Quote:
it seems to have straightened itself out on its own without strings!
That is normal. If the guitar has an adjustable truss rod, tightening it should straighten the neck. The truss rod is there to counteract the string tension.

Quote: