The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 04-02-2010, 10:37 AM
sir_strumalot sir_strumalot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Claremont, NH
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdelsolray View Post
You may need additional equipment to record two mics and two guitars, at the same time, with the Saffire Pro 24.
I don't believe so, though I'm far from being an old hand at this. (I'm just old. )

I've got two mic inputs on the front, and two 1/4" inputs in the back. (And also on the back, if I ever need 'em, a Midi I/O, Optical In, and SPDIF I/O.)

Perhaps I'm misunderstanding something?

When my son is home tonight, I'll plug his guitar in as well and test it out. He doesn't have an extra mic, so I'll bum one from my Dad tomorrow. By Sunday I should have a definitive answer!

-Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-02-2010, 11:37 AM
sdelsolray sdelsolray is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sir_strumalot View Post
I don't believe so, though I'm far from being an old hand at this. (I'm just old. )

I've got two mic inputs on the front, and two 1/4" inputs in the back. (And also on the back, if I ever need 'em, a Midi I/O, Optical In, and SPDIF I/O.)

Perhaps I'm misunderstanding something?

When my son is home tonight, I'll plug his guitar in as well and test it out. He doesn't have an extra mic, so I'll bum one from my Dad tomorrow. By Sunday I should have a definitive answer!

-Jeff
The two (non-digital) inputs on the back are line level inputs. They will work just fine if you feed them line level signals. They won't work very well otherwise (e.g., microphones, passive pickups). For example, if you wanted to use 4 microphones at the same time you would need an additional piece of equipment - a two channel microphone preamp, the dual mono outputs of which wound feed the line level inputs of the recording interface. Similarly, if you wanted to use the digital inputs, you will need an additional piece of equipment.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-02-2010, 11:58 AM
sir_strumalot sir_strumalot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Claremont, NH
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdelsolray View Post
The two (non-digital) inputs on the back are line level inputs. They will work just fine if you feed them line level signals. They won't work very well otherwise (e.g., microphones, passive pickups). For example, if you wanted to use 4 microphones at the same time you would need an additional piece of equipment - a two channel microphone preamp, the dual mono outputs of which wound feed the line level inputs of the recording interface. Similarly, if you wanted to use the digital inputs, you will need an additional piece of equipment.
Yep, that makes sense! I appreciate the feedback!
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=