The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 08-09-2019, 03:47 PM

Default Recording acoustic direct vs amped

I'm guessing this has been beaten to death, but thought I'd ask anyway. Messing around with Garage Band, I play my Taylor 313ce with an AT2020 mic, through the USB 96. Sounds pretty good, although I'm still learning mic placement. Then I played the guitar through an amp with the mic placed strategically. The quality seems to sound better, but I can't put my finger on it. Is this purely subjective?
I submitted a song on "show and tell" (Can't Find My Way Home), Direct to mic, no amp. Any thoughts? THANKS!
Old 08-10-2019, 06:12 AM

I listened to your rendition of Can't Find My Way Back Home on the Show and Tell sub-forum. Sounded good! If you prefer the amped sound, and want some input regarding relative merits of each, why not submit a version where you record the song again using your amp? If further input isn't a priority, then I'd suggest you just stick with whatever method you prefer.

AKA 'Screamin' Tooth Parker'

You can listen to Walt's award winning songs with his acoustic band The Porch Pickers @ the Dixie Moon album or rock out electrically with Rock 'n' Roll Reliquary

Bourgeois AT Mahogany D
Gibson Hummingbird
Martin J-15
Voyage Air VAD-04
Martin 000X1AE
Squier Classic Vibe 50s Stratocaster
Squier Classic Vibe Custom Telecaster
PRS SE Standard 24
Old 08-10-2019, 07:16 AM

Default Amped

Now that's a great idea. Thanks for the suggestion. I'll work on that!
Old 08-10-2019, 07:39 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lkristians View Post