The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 01-04-2021, 06:53 PM
Charter Member

Default Best way to improve my recording chain <$150

I'm still fairly new to recording, but have been dabbling a bit more. I was about to buy a new audio interface, thinking that that would make a difference. But I thought I'd ask first before just clicking the buy button.

Would also welcome recommendations in maximizing my use of what I already have. And fully recognize that learning what I'm doing will likely make a bigger difference than throwing $150 at it.

Will be using this for instrumental guitar and vocals primarily. Bluegrassy, flatpicky, strummy folksy stuff, mostly.

What I have on hand:
Computers:
-2020 MacBook Pro - This is a work computer, so I can't install unapproved software, limited to Garageband and Audacity. (I could maybe convince my admin to allow me to install commercial software, but would rather not.)

-Windows Desktop - Homebuilt.
CPU- AMD A10-7860k 12cores at 3.6 GHz (a bit long in the tooth)
RAM- 16GB
GPU- NVIDIA Ge Force GTX 1650 Super (not that it probably matters)
OS- Windows 10 Home 64-bit
-Audacity installed, and what I've been using. One good thing about this system is that the fans are all on controllers, so I can turn them off when I'm actively recording.

Interfaces
-M-Audio Mobile Pre
-Schiit Audio Fulla DAC (not really recording gear, but does have a mic/stereo mini plug in and usb out with an AKM analog-to-digital converter... don't really think this is helpful, but what do I know, might work well in conjunction with a mixer)
-cheap Behringer mixer

Mics
-Oktava MK 219 (large diaphragm condenser)
-MXL V250 (large diaphragm condenser)... hey, it was a Stupid Deal of the Day
-SM58

Playback
-no studio monitors
-Grado SR80 headphones
-Audio Technica ATH-m30x headphones

Sound Treatment
-none