The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 10-29-2011, 09:23 AM

Default Newbie to Open Mic. Figured I'd Share Progress

Hey guys, I have been singing since I was a kid and playing guitar since college (about 5 years out). Recently, my friend convinced me to start doing open mics so I have been giving it my best.

This is my third time doing it and only did this one song. My buddy recorded it so I figured I'd get feedback. I've been fighting a sinus infection so the singing isn't quite perfect and I botched a few lyrics here and there as a result of my nerves. The looping at the end was OK though the monitor was very low so it was hard to get the tempo 100% and botched one part...

I'll keep posting vids as they are recorded and I expand my music selection.

This is Howie Day's "Sorry So Sorry" or at least my best attempt at it for the time being

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZLSYzSSqOPU
Old 11-07-2011, 07:34 AM

no comments or feedback
Old 11-07-2011, 07:58 AM

Welcome to the forum, 2000_328ci (bmw).

It was hard to get a perspective on the performance. Sounded ok, but hard to hear.

If you get a chance, record something a little closer or by yourself.

We would be happy to give you some feedback.

take care,

Mike Solo
Old 11-07-2011, 08:02 AM
Charter Member

Did you have fun? Did you learn something? That's what open mic is all about.

I thought that you did a very nice job with this. I'm not familiar witht the original, but both your guitar and your vocals were smooth and pleasing. You made music. Of course a live recording will sound rough compared to a studio recording with careful audio engineering. But you did a great job. Most people don't have the guts to do what you did.

I'll look forward to more videos.

Steve
Old 11-07-2011, 09:38 AM