The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 07-25-2022, 05:31 PM
Charter Member

Default Kinnaird Student Build: 00 Deep Body Sitka/Maple (Final Pics and Video added)

Hey All,

Well after reading (and re-reading) all of the Kinnaird student build threads, I decide I had to try it for myself. I rarely post here but have been a daily reader of the AGF for at least the last 3 years. I have been playing for only a bit over 4 years as this has been my retirement project to learn guitar. I play only with my fingers (flesh) at home for my own enjoyment. I have 3 great acoustics and don’t really need another but having done some wood working in the past, I really wanted to experience the process of building an instrument.

One week from today I shall begin my adventure in the piney woods of Nacogdoches, TX working along side Steve and Ryan to make this build a reality. I chose a 00 body size for its inherent comfort and the deep body to provide a bit more bottom end. Steve and Ryan did a blind test where they built three “identical” guitars with Sitka tops and the only difference being back and sides of rosewood, mahogany, and maple. I preferred the sound of the maple. To add icing on the cake I am a sucker for the aesthetic beauty of flamed maple. So that was what was chosen for this build.

Since is my first attempt at creating a new thread and posting pics, I hope I get this right. The (hopefully) attached pic shows the beautiful flamed maple, the Sitka top and the Mora/Moradora/Monterillo Rosewood that will be used for the bridge, binding, fingerboard and rosette. Since I have been instructed the days are long and action packed, the thread may sit unattended next week while the actual construction occurs. I will provide updates after the fact.