The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 01-17-2021, 08:11 PM
Charter Member

Default Artist amongst us?

Of course musicians are artists.
But a recent thread got me wondering. How many painters, sculptors, dancers, writers, poets,digital artists, etc. are amongst us?
Do you have a “day job” to support your art habit or are you able to make an adequate living making art?

I’ll go first.
I’m a painter. I work in oils in a traditional fashion. I can not support my family of four on my art alone. All the artists I know, even the most financially successful, have to at least teach workshops or classes( now virtual) inorder to make things work. Of course there are many artist who teach more formally in middle and high schools, and at the university. Not to mention those waiting tables,etc..

I’m aware that there are a few famously successful contemporary artists- think Banksy or Hirst, etc.- but that’s rare.

Any other artists out there in the AGF?

Last edited by TRose; 01-18-2021 at 10:37 AM.
Old 01-17-2021, 10:32 PM

Painting a picture has always been a dream of mine. I especially love nature scenes. Sadly, however, having a certain degree of color blindness has prevented me from even trying. I do love to explore others artwork however.
Old 01-18-2021, 05:12 AM

Not sure I would refer to myself as an artist but I find it very satisfying making things of all shapes and sizes.

Wood, metal, glass, resin etc. If I (or friends and family) want something a bit different I'll have a go at creating it but I don't generally sell anything.

YouTube
Old 01-18-2021, 05:40 AM

TRose -