The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #76  
Old 12-17-2019, 06:55 PM
Marty C Marty C is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitaniac View Post
As mentioned, I plugged it directly into one of my SoloAmp's 1/4" inputs today. It worked fine. The biggest problem that I had with it was getting the battery compartment open. It was also a pretty tight fit around the mic cable's XLR connector, but I managed.

I suspect it will an absolute gas experimenting with some of the A1 Four's horn EFX on the human voice.


Most of my experimenting today was done with four different pickups in three different guitars. Using the simulated Baggs Venue EQ alone, I was able to dial in an Anthem SL rig and a Lyric rig very nicely. I've long been able to dial in the Anthem SL rig, but I had no idea the Lyric could sound so good. I'm tempted to use it for direct recording.
Thanks for sharing. Thatís great to know. I also have an Anthem SL that I have not been happy with. Always working on the Mic/UST balance and struggle with EQ. It is in an all mahogany Martin. I did a little work, but more to do. The EQ alone in this unit is more than worth the price.

Funny you say that about the vocals. I actually used my Zoom A3 for vocals. It had a mic input. Great EQ, good effects and the ability to create vocal presets. I actually liked it better for vocals than the guitar. If this A1 Four works well with vocals, I may get two and just use one for vocal and one for guitar. I could sum them together in a DI box and use my Xvive XLR to connect both to my Bose S1 Pro. Lots of possibilities.

Having a blast with this Zoom A1 Four!
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 12-17-2019, 08:05 PM
woodenstrings woodenstrings is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 734
Default

Aero,
How are you using wifi to connect to the bose s1 ?
Some kind wifi adaptor ?
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 12-17-2019, 08:08 PM
woodenstrings woodenstrings is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 734
Default

Duplicate post

Last edited by woodenstrings; 12-17-2019 at 08:10 PM. Reason: Duplicate
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 12-17-2019, 09:53 PM
AeroUSA AeroUSA is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodenstrings View Post
Aero,
How are you using wifi to connect to the bose s1 ?
Some kind wifi adaptor ?
I like the CSW-D or the Carvin WG-5. They seem to work best in NYC.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 12-19-2019, 08:57 AM
JackB1 JackB1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,640
Default

Can someone explain to me how to update the firmware. Is it done with the "guitar lab" software or something else? I did the thing where you plug in the USB cord while holding down both pedals and a pop up on the pedal screen says "ready for update" and then I open Guitar Lab and a pop up comes up on the screen saying "Update Available" and I keep clicking "OK" and nothing happened and it keeps popping back up. What am I doing wrong? The instructions in the manual are here, but they are very vague:
https://www.zoom-na.com/sites/defaul...s/E_A1FOUR.pdf

says to "download the firmware"......Does this mean "Guitar Labs" software?
The it says "Launch the firmware update application on the computer".......what does that mean? Open Guitar Labs???

Other Zoom product have actual download links that say "firmware" in the title. I don't see any like that for the A1 Four.
Maybe there is no firmware update yet???
__________________
Gear: Gibson J-45 Standard cutaway (2018), Gibson J15, Yamaha FG700S, Presonus Air10, Zoom A1 Four, Zoom AC3

Last edited by JackB1; 12-19-2019 at 09:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 12-19-2019, 10:42 AM
Arthur Slowhand Arthur Slowhand is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Cotswolds, UK
Posts: 317
Default

What are you ^^^ trying to achieve with a firmware update? I ask because I don't think they're offering any yet, so what have you seen that makes you want one?

Additional effects are available to download, but they are imported through Guitar Lab. I doubt if any firmware updates would be via Guitar Lab, because firmware is effectively system software, not editable applications, as it were. (Excuse my limited tech vocabulary.)
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 12-19-2019, 10:43 AM
JackB1 JackB1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,640
Default

Yeah I don't think there's new firmware available as of yet. My mistake.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur Slowhand View Post
What are you ^^^ trying to achieve with a firmware update? I ask because I don't think they're offering any yet, so what have you seen that makes you want one?

Additional effects are available to download, but they are imported through Guitar Lab. I doubt if any firmware updates would be via Guitar Lab, because firmware effectively system software, not editable applications, as it were. (Excuse my limited tech vocabulary.)
__________________
Gear: Gibson J-45 Standard cutaway (2018), Gibson J15, Yamaha FG700S, Presonus Air10, Zoom A1 Four, Zoom AC3
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 12-28-2019, 08:03 AM
westernslope westernslope is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty C View Post
Thanks for sharing. Thatís great to know. I also have an Anthem SL that I have not been happy with. Always working on the Mic/UST balance and struggle with EQ. It is in an all mahogany Martin. I did a little work, but more to do. The EQ alone in this unit is more than worth the price.

Funny you say that about the vocals. I actually used my Zoom A3 for vocals. It had a mic input. Great EQ, good effects and the ability to create vocal presets. I actually liked it better for vocals than the guitar. If this A1 Four works well with vocals, I may get two and just use one for vocal and one for guitar. I could sum them together in a DI box and use my Xvive XLR to connect both to my Bose S1 Pro. Lots of possibilities.

Having a blast with this Zoom A1 Four!
Any updates for vocals? I've been looking at the play acoustic and ve-8 but now you've got me thinking lol
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 12-28-2019, 08:09 AM
westernslope westernslope is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willie_D View Post
So I wound up buying one.

I really like it. The acoustic guitar "models" really do sound far more natural than my pickups alone. The effects I've checked out are really good, too. I haven't put it through the paces yet, but I can see this being my main unit if I'm just playing, and using the VE-8 if I'm playing and singing.
Did you see people discussing using to this or an A3 for vox? Not to derail this so if you have time I'd love a pm with your thoughts on the ve-8
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 12-29-2019, 08:39 AM
Marty C Marty C is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by westernslope View Post
Any updates for vocals? I've been looking at the play acoustic and ve-8 but now you've got me thinking lol
Haven't had a chance but will work on this tomorrow. I used the A3 for EQ and reverb on vocals. I hate it only had two places for effects.

I want to try the A1 four since I could use EQ, compression, delay and reverb together. I plan to try this together with the mic attachment.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=