The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 10-05-2020, 03:21 PM

Default TLM 103 vs c414 XLii

For vocals (priority) and stereo acoustic recording (paired with a km184)... Have you guys any experience with those microphones? Differences on sound, etc?

Thank you!

2005 Martin HD28 with K&K Trinity;
2012 Cordoba C10;
Grace Design Felix 2;
Sennheiser MD441;
DPA 4099 Core;
DPA 4018L;
Bose L1 Compact;
QSC Touchmix 8;
QSC K10.2;
Neumann u87ai;
Neumann KMS105;
Neumann KM184 (matched pair).

http://www.youtube.com/rodrigopandelo
http://www.rodrigopandelo.com
http://www.instagram.com/rodrigopandelo

São Paulo/Brazil
Old 10-05-2020, 04:14 PM

From doing both music and VO/spoken word, I have a lot of experience with the TLM 103 and cannot recommend it for speech or vocals. I've heard recordings done with them from a greater distance, such as drum overheads and miking a section of an orchestra, where they sounded better.

Couch Standards
Old 10-05-2020, 04:46 PM
Charter Member

Default Agree with Brent on TLM 103

Aloha Rodrigo,

I agree with Brent that the Neumann TLM 103 is NOT a good mic for vocals. It filled a lower LDC price point for Neumann. But I feel it is overpriced & it underperformed in my audition - sounding dull & not all that clear. Some like it. But avoid this one, Rodrigo, (to me, it's a $$$ dog). The TLM 102 for some reason sounds better on guitar.

The AKG 414XLii multi-pattern "small" LDC is a great jack of all trades mic. I've owned several models of the 414. It's very common in pro studio's, used for everything (lotsa percussion). It sounds very good (natural, clear, detailed & balanced) on acoustic guitar. I even used it live combined w/ a SBT pickup in quiet restaurant gigs. Sounded like my guitars.