The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 03-28-2018, 01:10 AM

Default Engelmann/Hog 000... em... self build(?)

So I’m sitting in the airport on my way to Melbourne to build a guitar at (Phil) Carson Crickmore’s workshop in Victoria. “Build” suggests a too high a level of independence: for 12 days I’m going to follow detailed step by step instructions provided by Phil.

Guitar will be OM body size with Engelmann spruce top and Honduran mahogany back and sides. Other decisions are up for grabs but I’m thinking: chunky V-ish neck, short scale (which I guess will make it a 000), 1.75 inch string spacing at nut, no cut away. Rosewood fingerboard, bridge, bindings. Going for warming sound, simple, hopefully elegant design.

I have no experience with guitar building so am not expecting a world class product by any means, but i’m hoping it’ll be an enjoyable thing to do, good learning experience, and with some luck a playable guitar at the end.

Any thoughts or advice from those that have done something similar or commissioned builds (or even if you haven’t) most welcome.

Last edited by Kerbie; 03-31-2018 at 02:49 AM. Reason: Spelling in title
Old 03-28-2018, 05:25 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CycleBob View Post
I have no experience with guitar building so am not expecting a world class product by any means,
Don't sell yourself short! If you lower your expectations even before you've started, you've already lost! Its not rocket science, and you'll have someone there beside you to guide and advise at every step of the way. Enjoy the process, and own the entire package - every win, every little mis-step, and at the end of it you WILL have a guitar you can be proud to say 'this is MY guitar'.
Old 03-28-2018, 07:06 AM