The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 09-02-2019, 04:09 AM

Default solo gig first time, tuning down

Good Morning

I'm almost 54 years old, and although I spent 1997-2004 as lead guitar for a country rock band, I have only been "keeping my chops" since. But...I've been practicing. I'm semi retired from my business and my second act is going to be a solo or duo gig. I've got 28 songs I can do without looking at lyrics, another 28 I can do WITH lyrics nearby, and another 20 or so I'm halfway there on. I'm a lead guitarist at heart so I really don't like to just take a rock song and "strum it", I try to figure out what cool things I can do on the acoustic to do a rock song justice vs. just playing it the same way on acoustic (like taking advantage of open strings, capo, double stops, etc.)

That being said, I am NOT a natural born singer. SO MANY songs I want to do (born on the bayou, hey tonight by creedence and a few others) are JUST out of reach...like...a HALF STEP out of reach. Most of the guys that do acoustic gigs locally tune down a half step, both the loosen the strings so they can do lead work easier, AND it puts some of those songs within reach. I want to be careful though...I get used to doing something in D flat and suddenly I'm at an open mic and they're in normal tuning and I can't do a song I've been doing by myself for months...maybe an unfounded fear?

So what do you all think about tuning down a half step? Or maybe I could have TWO guitars .... one tuned down for certain songs, one not...maybe not worth the hassle but ... ??

I use a Taylor 314CE, and also would probably have my Tele for a little variety (maybe do some Keith Richards open G stuff)