The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-20-2022, 10:01 AM

Default Spanish Guitar For Fun?

I just play around on guitar. I'm not that good at it, im interested in folk music. I've got two dreadnoughts. And an Epiphone pro 1 classical, fully laminated. I'm considering getting an Alhambra or Almansa nature just for fun. They're pretty cheap Spanish guitars with solid tops, lam b/s. Plus I think they look cool and would so aesthetically look good hanging on the wall. I tried a few at the music store recently. They have a very beautiful sound.

I don't really have a lot of money though. I'm just wondering what are your guy's thoughts on Spanish guitars, and buying one just to play around with?
Old 01-20-2022, 10:26 AM

I assume by "Spanish," you mean "nylon string classical."

They're a great sound and well worth having around. Yamaha and Cordoba would be the inexpensive models I'd go after first.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz
Old 01-20-2022, 10:46 AM

Yes exactly, classical nylon string guitars. Except the ones I'm considering are made in Spain, which I guess has a much more popular tradition with classical guitars than America. I actually don't get what the tradition is. I know flamenco and Spanish guitar are their own music styles. I don't much knowledge about guitars made in Spain, other than that.. But I enjoyed playing around with them in the music store.
Old 01-20-2022, 10:49 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6stringedRamble View Post
Yes exactly, classical nylon string guitars. Except the ones I'm considering are made in Spain, which I guess has a much more popular tradition with classical guitars than America. I actually don't get what it is. But I enjoyed playing around with them in the music store.
Well, Spain literally invented them!