The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-02-2017, 07:14 AM

Default New to the forum looking for recommendations

Hey there all,
My name is Derek, I’ve been playing guitar for about ten years now and never really had a nice one. I play in a bluegrass/folk, don’t really use a pick too much, don’t really solo all too much either. I currently play with a takamine g406s and I’ve really just grown out of it and I’m looking to size up a bit. I guess you could say i have a similar playing style to bands like Devil Makes Three and stuff like that. I’m looking into a new guitar and have been back and forth on orchestra models and 000 models. Looking for something all solid wood with more volume and projection, no cutaway, under a grand in price and preferably 000 size but could be convinced to stray away from that. What would y’all recommend for someone playing that style of music?
Old 12-02-2017, 07:26 AM

Welcome Derek!

You're probably going to want a dreadnaught for the projection you seek.

A used Martin DM (poor mans D18) solid top only, would fit the bill around $500.

I have one and it is my go-to guitar over my D-35 and 000-18ge.
Old 12-02-2017, 07:32 AM

Welcome to the forum!
Old 12-02-2017, 07:45 AM

I think I’d like to stay away from a dreadnought for now. Just for comfortabilitys sake. I’ve been looking at the guild om240e. Haven’t played one just yet, has anyone spent any time with that guitar here?
Old 12-02-2017, 07:47 AM
Charter Member

Location: Stationary home in NJ. Mobile home on any given highway.

Welcome to the forum!