The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-02-2019, 08:58 AM

Default Humidifier Advice

Hi folks,

It's that time of year again in the northeast. I have a roughly 12x10 studio/music room in my basement where I keep all my acoustic and electric guitars. I've been using a Vornado Evap 40 for a few years in there to keep the humidity up during heating season. It works well enough, but I have a few quibbles with it and am looking to upgrade. Figured this might be a good place to hear from others who have dealt with similar issues.

The big problem with the Evap 40 is the humidity sensor. There's only a dial that lets you set your desired level on a continuum from highest to lowest, rather than specific humidity settings like 45% or 50%. I'll often set it just to the point where I think it will click on at less than 40% and off at more than 50%, but it doesn't work out that way. Sometimes the unit will shut off and not come back on even though my analog humidistat in the room shows less than 40%. Other times it keeps running past 55%, delivering too much humidity. This means I have to check and adjust the settings at least once, more often twice, a day, which is tough if you're out or away.

I have a smaller Evap unit we use in my daughter's bedroom that has specific number settings and works much better, but the water capacity in those Vornado units is too small for the studio. I like the 4-gallon capacity in the Evap 40, and the removable water tanks, which make for easy refilling, but would love to find a high-capacity unit that has a more-precise, digital humidistat built in.

Anyone out there have any advice for me? Thanks in advance.
Old 11-02-2019, 09:51 AM

Search is your friend here man. If you do so, you will be pleased with the wealth of information and suggestions that come back.

Best of luck.

Cheers
2019 PRS Silver Sky