The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 02-20-2012, 07:24 PM

Default Razo Guitars Build Thread- #3 Claro Walnut/Lutz Spruce

My name is Jonathan Razo, and this is my first build thread here on AGF. I started building in November. After spending a lot of money on "high end" guitars i started thinking if there was a better was to get nice guitars without spending sooo much money, so i started researching and hanging out here at the custom shop and on OLF. I then reached out to Jason Simpson of Simpson guitars and he took me in for 2 days and just let me watch him build and talk guitar building! without going so much into the whole story Here is a link to my 1st guitar and the story behind it http://luthiersforum.com/forum/viewt...bolo+engelmann
here is also a youtube video of my first critique http://youtu.be/H613iVjq28s

Unforetunately i didn't document my 2nd build, but as soon as it is dried and strung up i will post pics, so without further a due here is my 3rd on

Claro Walnut/Lutz Spruce (originally was going to be Claro/Curly Redwood)
Later decided that the redwood would be too complicated specially for my 3rd guitar, but it was a stunning set!

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I am horrible at documenting every step, but here are the rest of the pics, my side bender (not fancy, but efficient), my circle cutting jig (again homemade and not fancy but gets the job done!), also installing A4 kerfing

I will try to document my builds better!

Jonathan
Old 02-20-2012, 08:00 PM

Cool rosette, Jonathan! Looks like you're off to a great start!

Joel
Old 02-24-2012, 09:12 AM

Default Claro Lutz

Glad to see another Claro and I think, while perhaps not as stunning as the Redwood, you should like the sound of the Lutz!
Collings SJ Braz/Ger, 000-42Koa, UC3 Killer Koa
Jeffrey Yong's Seismic 2011 Japan Earthquake Tribute and a Quilt Mah "The Tree" Olson
Old 02-26-2012, 12:29 PM