The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 08-01-2019, 03:07 PM

Default Question on AUX Sends for Mixing/Mastering on a DAW

I've used DAWs for a while but am self taught in mixing. I don't use AUX sends or buses much. I sometimes do buses to group tracks with similar effects, but I seldom use AUX sends.

Can someone tell me what the difference is between using an AUX send and just copy and pasting a track to double it? It seems like the same thing to me. There must be a benefit to AUX send though. Maybe hardware overhead as in less CPU load?

I usually just double the track by copying it into another regular track.
Goodall Grand Concert Cutaway Walnut/Italian Spruce
Santa Cruz Brazilian VJ
Taylor 8 String Baritone
Blueberry - Grand Concert
Magnum Opus J450
Eastman AJ815
Parker PA-24
Babicz Jumbo Identity
Walden G730
Silvercreek T170
Charvell 150 SC
Takimine G406s
Old 08-01-2019, 08:05 PM
Charter Member

When you duplicate a track, you're also going to have to duplicate whatever plugins you've used on that track. That puts an additional load on your computer. On top of that, if you're using that extra track for reverb or delay, you'll have to duplicate any tweaks you might do to that track on the extra track, otherwise you're not really performing reverb or delay on the same thing.

Another benefit is when you want to apply the same thing to a bunch of tracks. Suppose you have six harmony vocal tracks and you want to apply the same reverb to all of them. You can put a reverb on each track and use up all that processing power and adjust each reverb, or you can send the six tracks to a bus and apply/adjust the reverb once and be done.