The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 02-18-2014, 04:57 PM

Default Seam Separation

Hi. I'm new here, but I'm looking for help and I can't seem to find an answer anywhere online. I just bought a used Martin D series acoustic/electric. It looked to be in immaculate condition. This is the first higher end guitar I have ever owned (I know the D series is kinda low end for Martin, but it's the most expensive guitar I've ever been able to own). I've never used a humidifier before nor have I ever had an issue with humidity on any of my guitars before. Anyway, I noticed some buzzing on the high E and it was recommended that I try buying a humidifier and leaving it in the case for a week. I did that and it resolved the buzzing a bit. A few days later however, I took it out of the case and noticed a small split in the seam. Not big, just enough of a separation to get my fingernail under it. I bought a hydrometer (the accuracy of which I seriously question) and did my best to keep it in the 45%-55% range. About a week later the seam started separating in a different spot. Everything I've read online about seam separation seems to point to a lack of humidity as the cause, but none of this happened until I started using the humidifier. Any thoughts? Any ideas or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 02-18-2014, 05:28 PM

Could you post a photo?
Old 02-18-2014, 05:28 PM

A pic showing the actual location would be helpful.
Old 02-18-2014, 06:20 PM

How can I attach a picture?
Old 02-18-2014, 06:27 PM

http://s752.photobucket.com/user/jay...8bfc8.jpg.html

http://s752.photobucket.com/user/jay...18bf7.jpg.html

The first is the seam I repaired, the second is the second split I mentioned which I haven't gotten to yet
Old 02-18-2014, 06:37 PM

Also, what I think I'm calling the seam may actually be the binding.
Old 02-18-2014, 08:22 PM

What model is it?