The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 08-28-2021, 04:43 AM
Charter Member

Default help me. new to recording acoustic guitar

im old and not very tech savy. looking for advice on easiest way to record my acoustics to share with friends afar, family, AGF, etc. i own alot of different pick up systems for acoustics/classicals but looking to record just the pure acoustic guitars without plugging in to anything.

I have a new pro dell laptop and a s20 samsung phone. not sure if i should just use youtube or zoom? ... somehow to record and how to do it? and if their is any software to use in conjunction? and what cheap mic sys to record. ive been looking through this forum section but alot of it is greek to me and not looking at spending a lot of money..all my money goes into GAS. Im new to this thought so need alot of help or reference to guidance on how to start off as a newbee to recording. appreciate any help.

1929 SS Stewart Pro Archtop
1921 G Houghton Archtop Banjo
2007 George Rizsanyi Custom Maple Banjo Killer
2017 James Malejczuk Custom OM Black Limba
1980 Norman B50-12
Norman B-20
Recording King single 0
1996 Takamine
1967 Yam G-130 Melvina
1980s Seagull S6 Cedar
2003 Briarwood
1970s Eko Maple
1982 Ovation
2020 Fender Telecaster
Mandolin
Yam THR5A
Sienna 35 Kustom
Old 08-28-2021, 06:25 AM

Hi Don,

You'll have to decide whether you want to keep it simple or "dive into the deep end".

Simple: A portable recorder. Zoom and Tascam both make units in the $100 range.

Deep end: Add a recording interface to your PC. Approx. $100-$200. Most of these interfaces come with a stripped down version of DAWS software (Digital Audio Work Station) software. Reaper is a very good inespensive DAWS program. $60 US. Then you'll have to either get microphones which can vary for $tens to as much as you want to spend.