The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 12-30-2010, 05:24 PM
Charter Member

Default BLUE SPARK...first impressions

Hey,

Ive been asking a lot about mics lately in search of a good recording mic. I picked up the Spark by blue today and I'm really in love....Keep in mind, Im just a beginner, and I'm sure someone might call me an idiot or tell me to return it, but for being a first-timer, I'm really impressed. Also kudos to GC for helping me not really in choosing, but supporting my choice one I said what my intentions were....got a stand, a cable by monster, and humidipaks....

I'll update this when I play with this "FOCUS" switch they talk about...

Thanks to Mario too for his reccomendation, as well as others who chimed in....

Now if I can just get my neighbor to turn off him "christmas light show blaring outside christmas music extravaganza!" (I hope he doesnt play guitar!)

Bill
Old 12-30-2010, 09:42 PM
Charter Member

Default Excellent Choice, Give Em!

Aloha Give'Em,

That's a very nice, affordable condenser mic for guitar & vocals, Bill. Especially for individual tracking. Excellent value & choice for an all in one.

What signal chain will you be using it through?

BTW, the focus switch on the Spark just changes the mic's internal EQ from more mid-rangey to more open sound. You can change the EQ of a track on your DAW. Therefore, I wouldn't turn the focus switch on for recording (live would be fine), unless you were playing a very boomy, larger guitar that needed to be evened out by the cut filter or pad - what the focus switch is really.

Your comments about the neighbors also brought up a thought I must share:

Please think about some kind of cheap, DIY portable room treatment for your recording space.