The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 02-22-2021, 06:56 AM

Default Neck too narrow and maybe to thin; request advice

Hi folks,
I am a novice and I am studying primarily on nylon string guitars, so wide neck: 52mm (2.05 inch) or 50 mm (1.96 inches).
More or less a month ago I bought a pretty AMI Sigma guitar, it is an OM/OOO body with a 645mm (24.9 inches) scale length and 44.5mm (1 3/4) wide neck.
I love its sound, but I do not like the neck, is too thin and too narrow.... so now I am thinking to buy a guitar with the nut width of 46 mm (1 13/16 inch).
I have found a parlor guitar quite inexpensive (166 euro) that has 1 13/16 width nut, so I could try.
Maybe it is worth wait and buy a capo, tune the guitar half step-down and put the capo at the first fret, so I will have the nut width of 46mm (1 13/16 inch) and try if it suits me....maybe I can even leave the capo on permanently :-)
What do you suggest to me in this situation?
The optimum would be to buy a Furch with 00 body shape and 48mm (1.89 inches) neck width, but it is too expensive for now.
Thanks in advance for any advice/suggestion.
Old 02-22-2021, 07:36 AM

I only played classical guitar for quite a few years and there was an adjustment when I went back to steel strings. Some players would call 1 3/4 too wide, so it's all relative.

The way I see it you have two choices:

1. Play the one you have for a while longer and see if it doesn't become comfortable.

2. Purchase a wider neck.

I suppose it cost you nothing to try the capo trick for a while, but either way comfort is a real thing. You will eventually need to become comfortable or seek it elsewhere.

If you're spending most of your time on the classical and a few minutes a day on the steel it will probably take a lot longer to get comfortable with a smaller neck. There are a few guitars out there with 1 7/8 nuts - I played a lovely Martin Koa.