The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 02-19-2009, 09:10 PM

Default Drilling/Reaming an End-Pin Jack Hole?

I have an Alvarez Masterworks series acoustic that did not come with any electronics. I bought a Fishman Ellipse Matrix Blend system to install in it, but I have to drill the end-pin hole to 1/2"... I bought a tapered 1/8" to 1/2" reamer bit from Lowes and am wondering if this is all I need to widen the hole.

I saw the stew-mac end-pin reamer, but I don't want to spend $60 on a tool I'll only use once. I am hoping my 1/2" reamer attached to my drill (at a low speed) will do; are there any other tools I will need to drill this hole, or am I good just to slowly drill it out?

Any advice is very appreciated!
Old 02-19-2009, 09:28 PM

if you buy the less expensive tool in the beginning to save yourself some money, you will spend alot more in the end if you do it like I did....................

Old 02-19-2009, 09:39 PM

What tool did you use when you did that?

I am planning on using a 1/2" reamer that I know our local guitar shop uses, and so I am guessing that this IS the right tool. It just isn't the most expensive tool.

The guitar I am doing it on is only a $700 guitar, and it's a player not a show piece. I wouldn't be all that mad if my guitar ended up like yours in the picture. I would just stain the light wood where pieces chipped away to match the darker outside, and it would be all good.

I'm mainly concerned about not damaging the structural integrity of the instrument. Though, I am going to do everything I can not to junk up the finish or chip wood either.

I am not looking for people to tell me to purchase a $60 reamer from stew-mac unless this is truly the only way. If there are other acceptable and commonly practiced ways to do this, please let me know!

Thanks!!! =)
Old 02-19-2009, 10:07 PM