The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 03-06-2019, 07:51 AM

Default Thinking of getting CAD certified...

25 years ago I was a technical illustrator using Alias software to render in virtual 3D. My focus was essentially in interior design conceptualization. I gave it up because I wasn't well schooled on the business end and I needed to eat and pay rent - and I've always regretted it. This was also back when dialup Internet was still the norm and all my expenditures for updating my portfolio and doing self promotion was at Kinko's and the USPS.

After a recent sit-down with a local renovation firm to do my bathroom I was presented with a mockup that showed me that my old work (though dated) was not nearly as bad as I thought it was. It got the wheels turning in my head that maybe I could get back into it.

I'd like to think that things have changed for the better with regards to networking and that I've learned what NOT to do. I admit that I still need to figure out a lot of things if I want to get back in the game.

I would be remiss if I didn't add that my 11yo son is also interested in something along these lines and I see it as a means of inspiring him as well. I wish there were "virtual sandbox" computer games like Minecraft, SIM City, Roblox, Planet Coaster, etc.

I know that a lot of you here have experience in engineering and carpentry and whatnot, so I'm posing the question to you: is it in my interest to go back to school to get certified in industry standard technology and invest in the the hardware to refresh my portfolio? I like to think that my schooling gave me the understanding of the basic concepts.

What do you think?
Old 03-06-2019, 08:21 AM