The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-11-2021, 06:46 AM

Default Struggling with palm muting

I've been playing for six years, would describe myself as advanced beginner trying to get to the next level. I'm comfortable with my strumming and play in a sizable band that plays at Senior Centers.

My primary role in the band is rhythm guitar and I would like to improve in that role. It has been suggested to incorporate palm muting in some of our songs, something I am struggling to do. I hold the pick between thumb and index finger but due to the pick rotating on me when I first learned, I'm in the habit of keeping my right hand in a closed fist under the thumb/index fingers.

When I strum, I'm able to keep the knuckles of the middle, ring and pinky fingers away from the higher strings, but when I try to palm mute, I find it almost impossible to rest the outside side of my hand against the bridge while keeping my hand in a fist. If I open my fist and try to play with an open hand, I struggle to control the pick.

Any thoughts/suggestions, especially for those who hold their right hand in a closed fist and have succeeded in making palm muting part of their repertoire? if it matters, I play a Gibson J45.

Last edited by shekie; 04-11-2021 at 06:52 AM.
Old 04-11-2021, 08:35 AM

I've taught palm muting to a few people and it can be difficult but with practice they are able to do it. I also hold the pick between the thumb and first finger but the rest of my fingers/hand is not in a fist.

Where is your hand resting? Try simple downstrokes and put you hand over the bridge and then move it slowly, while downstroking, in the direction of the neck. You should find a sweet spot.

You also need to try it out with more, and less, pressure of your hand on the strings.

I just tried this with the 'fist' method and I could still palm mute.
Old 04-11-2021, 08:50 AM
Charter Member