The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 11-30-2020, 08:19 AM

Default Fret install newb question...

Do any of you guys install your frets onto the board BEFORE gluing to the neck?

Is there a good reason not to do this? I am not talking dressing and crowning etc. Just hammering them into the slots. Just seems easier and less margin for error. Less wobble, no need for a neck caul.

Or is there some obvious reason that I am missing because this is my first build?

GRacias in advance.
Old 11-30-2020, 08:37 AM

Gluing the fretboard onto the neck first allows you to plane the board flat prior to fretting, this illiminates fallaway.

Steve
Maton Messiah
Taylor 814CE
Old 11-30-2020, 08:38 AM

I’ve done it that way, but don’t anymore.

I once split a fingerboard doing that, but I think that is a very rare occurrence.

The main reason I don’t do it that way is that the only way to ensure that the finger board is really flat is to dress it after the guitar is fully assembled - unless it is a Taylor style neck assembly. If the fingerboard surface is not flat you are then relying on grinding the fret tops to achieve a flat plane. Ultimately what matters is that the tops of the frets lie in a plane, but ensuring the surface into which the frets are installed is flat provides a good starting point for level frets.

In response to Steve’s comment, “fall away” is unacceptable to me. It makes the action higher the higher you play up the fingerboard over the body. If one doesn’t play up there, then it won’t matter to that player. It does matter to me and my playing.

Last edited by charles Tauber; 11-30-2020 at 08:44 AM.
Old 11-30-2020, 09:36 AM
Custom Guitars

I do it that way. I am okay with a little fallaway after the body joint so it works for my system.
Old 12-23-2020, 02:02 PM
Charter Member