The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 01-25-2024, 03:00 AM

Default Great book, DVD or online course on (electric) rock rhythm guitar?

Great book, DVD or online course on (electric) rock rhythm guitar?

Hey guys,

I play mainly acoustic guitar, I started playing classical- and fingerstyle pieces just for myself and then accompanied singers on unplugged gigs, weddings etc. Regarding this style of guitar playing I would consider myself an intermediate player.

I would love to play in a band some day soon - I turn 33 this year and I feel like this is a "now or never"-situation
Bands seem to be looking for guitarists playing the electric guitar. Most bands seem to play rock. I myself like to listen to classic rock of the 70's (Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Queen...) as well as modern indie or alternative rock (The National, Portugal The Man, RHCP...).

I bought an electric guitar and quickly realised: this a different world of guitar playing.
I want to learn rhythm guitar first since everybody advises this.
I need a really good book, DVD or online course that explains the essential techniques of playing (electric) rock rhythm guitar.
I am a perfectionist and for me a 10-minutes-youtube-tutorial does not do it. I am looking for a book, dvd or online course that really goes into detail.

I am thankful for every piece of advice!

Matt
Old 01-27-2024, 07:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattBlue View Post
Great book, DVD or online course on (electric) rock rhythm guitar?

Hey guys,

I play mainly acoustic guitar, I started playing classical- and fingerstyle pieces just for myself and then accompanied singers on unplugged gigs, weddings etc. Regarding this style of guitar playing I would consider myself an intermediate player.

I would love to play in a band some day soon - I turn 33 this year and I feel like this is a "now or never"-situation