The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 05-22-2010, 04:46 PM

Default Help with string noise

So I'm new to the nylon/fingerstyle picking and I've been playing with a NS34CE for a few months now. The guitar sounds great unamplified - the string noise is hardly noticable. However, when I plug it in all I get is the noise my fingers make scraping across the bass strings as I move. I'm currently playing the D'addario Pro-arte EJ44LP (lightly polished) which is supposed to reduce this noise, but I don't hear a difference.

Any thoughts on how I can reduce this noise? I really don't drag my fingers THAT much I've already reduced it as much as I can with the EQ settings.

Thanks.
Old 05-22-2010, 05:19 PM

Hello, nylon strings need lots of space to vibrate. If you nut is smaller than 2 inches a very sensitive touch is needed. Try a gentle touch. I hope this helps. Nothing is worse than guitar problems.....I understand your frustration.
Old 05-23-2010, 06:54 AM

Thanks Robot - I'm working on it!
Old 05-23-2010, 01:08 PM

No problem, You have a very nice guitar. I think it is a matter of posture and hand position more than anything. I have the same problem and have been looking for a shortcut, but have never found one yet.
Old 05-23-2010, 01:47 PM

Thanks to Andrew Wasson on Youtube, I found a video of him explaining his nylon guitar rig and he mentioned that he uses a compressor/limiter...I pulled my Boss CS-3 out of my electric pedal board and plugged it in and set the limiter low and voila - much much better sound. I still had to tweak some other settings to get everything to sound more natural, but I'm extremely happy with the results.

So right now my rig (and audio path) is:
Taylor NS34CE
Boss (Monte Allums kit modified) CS-3